Kylie Minogue’s Self-Titled 1994 Album Set For Expanded Reissue, With Unreleased Tracks

Throughout 1993 and 1994, a then-25-year-old Kylie Minogue recorded material for her fifth studio album with a virtual who’s who of early ’90s dance-pop luminaries: Brothers In Rhythm, Saint Etienne, M People, Pet Shop Boys, onetime Dead Or Alive members Mike Percy and Timothy Lever, Jimmy Harry, Farley & Heller and the Rapino Brothers. It was Kylie’s first album done outside of the London-based Stock Aitken Waterman hit factory, and a lot was riding on the Australian singer’s ability to prove she could establish herself with a new team of writers and producers.

By the time Kylie Minogue was released in the fall of 1994, a chunk of material had been scrapped, including songs written with Saint Etienne’s Bob Stanley and Pete Wiggs, as well as nearly two handfuls of tracks the Rapino Brothers worked on.

US-based label Vibe On has now announced plans for a two-disc reissue of the album that promises “an amazing set of rare and previously unreleased bonus tracks.” So far, no further information has been given. This follows last year’s extremely goodies-packed Cherry Red Records reissues of Minogue’s four PWL albums.

As we now know, Kylie’s ’94 LP went on to give the world further Minogue hits like “Confide In Me” and “Put Yourself In My Place.” It also marked the beginning of the singer’s longstanding working relationship with Steve Anderson of Brothers In Rhythm, who most recently produced Minogue’s 2015 Kylie Christmas album.

Below is one of the unreleased songs from Kylie’s 1994 era: ’60s throwback “Aston Martin.” Fingers crossed remastered versions are included on the upcoming reissue.

Stay Tuned.

written by Robbie Daw (

Leave a Reply